A Traveling Bibliophile

I would consider myself something of a ‘bibliophile’—someone who loves books. My personal library takes up many bookshelves (and boxes) and I can’t say for certain these days how many of the books of that collection have yet to be read. I try never to travel without a book. Back in the days before e-readers, this meant I would normally carry 1-5 books with me on any vacation, certain that I would finish them. Sometimes I’d have to buy more books while on a trip since I would inevitably run out of things to read!

Peter Dutton on Flickr

Back when I was studying abroad in France, I didn’t even bring a book. (Or if I did, I cannot remember it!) My “reading for fun” in France consisted of reading Harry Potter books in French that one of my friends loaned me with my dictionary and notebook handy so that I could translate unknown words and phrases. As it turns out, this is far trickier when the book involves made-up words to begin with. While I love Harry Potter and it was a great way to practice reading French, it made reading seem like homework. I craved English words.

 As I sought out books in English with a ferocity normally reserved for cake and ice cream, I found myself downloading PDFs to read on my computer. This made for an unpleasant reading experience due to the bright screen and constant scrolling. I sometimes would change the settings so that the screen would rotate and I’d hold my laptop on my lap as if it were a massive, brightly-lit book.

Needless to say, as I kept reading books in PDF form on my computer and searched for English books in the local bookstore, I decided that I should get a Kindle before I traveled next. The thought of having multiple books with me was appealing, especially if I could collect my favorites into a portable version of my real-life library.

When I came back to the States, a Kindle went on my wish list almost immediately. I didn’t get one until around the time I graduated from high school almost a year later, and promptly downloaded several books from Project Gutenberg. That summer found me traveling often– road trips, plane rides, and more road trips. Sean Kelly on Flickr

While I brought some books with me on one of those road trips (and when I say “I”, I mean my dad brought some books which I borrowed to read during the long car rides), they did not last long. Without my Kindle, I would be stuck re-reading the same book over and over, or buying a new book when we stopped somewhere. While that would be somewhat tolerable if we were driving everywhere, I had a few flights in between trips. I’m one of those travelers who attempts to avoid checking baggage, and not carrying around a bunch of books is necessary to this. I read too quickly to bring a single book, even if it is one of those books that is more like a brick than paper.

Later on that summer, my Kindle proved itself as a versatile travel accessory. At a state park in Maine on a rainy and chilly night, my family retreated to the tent just as I finished the second of three books in a series. I was desperate to read the next. The state park happened to have WiFi that I could access from the tent, though the presence of WiFi at a state park seems hilarious and rather pointless. Instant gratification and a few more hours of entertainment were the strangest and best things at the time. That book lasted me through the rest of the trip.

I love my Kindle all the time, but I especially love it when I travel. While I love the feel of real books, the smell, the texture of them… my Kindle makes reading easy and convenient. I love being able to download a book immediately, try out new authors (check out Pixel of Ink for deals!), and being able to download classics for free. I tend to stock up on books I want or love when they’re on sale, so I rarely pay more than $6 for a book.

I rarely read just one book at a time, so being able to switch between classics, random free books, and old favorites like the Harry Potter series with a few clicks makes reading more accessible. I never have to worry that I’ll run out of books. The battery lasts so long that I have rarely encountered the problem of the battery dying on me. I don’t have to make decisions about what books to take or leave for trips or worry that I’ll be stuck without a book, bored and craving words or entertainment. Best of all, I am never far away home– these familiar stories have been with me for so long that reading them again, even on a screen, is a homecoming.

How do you feel about e-readers? Do you have a favorite book to read while traveling?

Originally posted on my blog on Students Gone Global. 

Leave a Reply

