American Foods Revisited

Four years ago I wrote a blog post about the American foods I missed while in France. I’m back in France now, and I thought it would be fun to re-visit that post and see if the foods I miss now are the same as they were then! Especially since one of the most quintessentially American holidays (the 4th of July) is right around the corner, and as every American knows: holidays are an excuse to eat as much food as possible!
Click here to read the original post with my comments.

Ice cream will always be one of my favorite foods. Especially from the Hop in Asheville!

White Duck Taco Shop in Asheville has the best tacos.

  1. Macaroni and Cheese. I will always miss mac and cheese. I made some from scratch in Finland, but it wasn’t the same– Gouda and Gruyere might be fancier, but it’s not the same as good ol’ cheddar cheese.
  2. American-style breakfast. — Okay, so Finland was great about American-style breakfast, since I made my own scrambled eggs and bacon on a regular basis. I do miss biscuits and waffles though.
  3. PB&J. NOPE. I wish I had peanut butter for carrots or apples, but I don’t miss peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.
  4. COOKIES! Brownies, cake-with-legit-frosting. I don’t really miss this, either. Butter cream cakes, maybe, but I did a fair amount of baking in Finland, and there were plenty of brownie-like cakes.
  5. Phish Food flavor of Ben & Jerry’s. This is still my favorite flavor of Ben & Jerry’s, but I just want ice cream in general. These days I really miss The Hop in Asheville – they have the best ice cream!
  6. Mexican food. I will always want Mexican food. Just like mac and cheese, it’s one of the greatest things about living in the USA, even if it isn’t technically American.
  7. PASTA with non-meat-sauce or pasta with not-ketchup-and-Gruyere. I have not had to eat bad pasta, so I’m good on the pasta front.
  8. Barbeque. Like the kind with pulled pork sandwiches. Oh yes, I still miss this.
  9. Pop-tarts. No, and I am embarrassed that this was even on the list. Pop-tarts are sad food. I saw some in Finland and considered buying them just for the novelty of it, but… nope.
  10. Hershey’s Chocolate. NO. I had lots of delicious chocolate in Finland, and there’s plenty of chocolate around so that I don’t feel like I’m lacking everyday chocolate. My everyday chocolate is of higher quality.
Basically, I only miss 5 of the American foods I missed in 2010.

A mac & cheese and bacon pizza is as ridiculously American as it gets.

So what do I miss besides mac&cheese, American-style breakfast, ice cream, Mexican food, and barbecue?
  1. Americanized Chinese takeout. Oh yes. So unhealthy, so good.
  2. Pizza with fluffy crust. I don’t mean Chicago-style deep dish pizza, but normal, fluffy crust pizza. The kind with air bubbles in the crust. The thin crust is great and delicious, but lacking in variety and the crust bubbles are my favorite.
  3. My favorite teas. Technically not a food, but I’m still going to count it. I am almost out of my stash of tea bags from the USA! Nothing is quite like my favorite Constant Comment.
  4. Mashed potatoes with gravy. 
  5. Cinnamon rolls & donuts. Cinnamon rolls without cardamom and with real icing, instead of sugar are heavenly. The Finns have korvapuusti (like a cinnamon roll, made with pulla dough and sprinkled with sugar crystals) and munkki (fried pulla dough– can be in a donut shape or filled with jam, covered in sugar) which are delicious, but not quite the same as sticky cinnamon rolls and donuts.

Scott Ableman on FlickrThe foods I miss seem to be late-night foods: greasy, horrible-for-you piles of fries and cheese and bacon. Breakfast at all hours of the day, in any combination. Everything sweet, greasy, and (typically) unhealthy… mmm.

Soon enough, I’ll be back in the USA, enjoying all of these horrible and delicious foods. Though in the meantime, there is plenty of delicious French food to eat! (And American-style pancakes on the weekends!)
3 thoughts on “American Foods Revisited

  1. Pingback: Aly en France: American Foods Revisited | Aly Abroad

Leave a Reply

